Close to a Month Already

Wow did the end of September really creep up on me. I am going to try to continue to blog once a week on my days off. If I manage to get more in that is a bonus, but once a week is a pretty good goal.

This last month has gone by faster than I expected. Single days have felt so long, weeks have felt long, but in the end the month has flown by. Every day I am still learning more and more.

In the last week I have given 4 calves 2 pills each at different times. Learning how far you have to stick the syringe down their throat was a bit of a learning curve, but I know it will make them healthier in the end so it is worth their discomfort.

I am learning what signs point to whether cows need more hay, less hay, less time in the barn, more time in the barn, more minerals, more gain, less grain, etc. It is a lot to try and remember, but hopefully at the end of 6 months it will become like second nature. There are so many factors and variables, so many nuances. But through living with them every day I am beginning to learn and understand the signs.

I learned how to gut chickens this last week. I had watched Mike back on Antiquity Oaks do it, but I got to do it this time, and do it a lot. We butchered 300 chickens on farm on Tuesday, and it was an incredible endeavor to be a part of. WE did it cleanly, and efficiently. It was an experience I am sure I will never forget. After having my hands inside more chickens than I counted and got very comfortable with it by the end.

I think one of the most important things I am learning is just how important communication is within a farm if things are to go smoothly. There are a lot of gears all working at the same time, and communication between those parts is critical for every day functioning.

In general life has been moving pretty smoothly and without too many bumps.

I am missing friends from back home, and realizing I do not know when I will see them again, but this is an important part of my life and I know it will all be worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

